klmcdonald731

Help with DIY Project - Painting Antique Furniture

Kristen
5 år sedan

Hi everyone! I've had a cute antique vanity and side table for 15 years and want to update them to give them a more adult, modern look. I am not good at DIY projects and don't know where to begin to make sure I do this properly. Every instruction or "how to" I find is taking a piece from bare wood to painted, but these have already been painted and are chipped in several places. I'd love some advice from someone who has upcycled antique furniture that's already been painted! Do I need to get all of the paint off? Just sand lightly? Is there a different type of primer I will need than if it was bare? Will I need an electric sander or just normal sandpaper or a sanding block?

I'd also love recommendations for primers, paints, and protective coatings. I want to do an antique matte black for both with brass hardware. I've added some photos to show my current white pieces and some inspiration for what I want the end result to look like!

Thank you!!!

BEFORE:

AFTER (HOPEFULLY)

I know these look more navy, but I want to do a true antique matte black. This is just for the idea.

Kommentarer (26)

• PRO
    1625 DB
    5 år sedan

You'll need to sand pretty agressively -- with a power tool if one is availble. The goal is not to strip, but to get the flakes of paint off and then make a 'rough' surface that paint will stick to. Then prime and paint. Painting with a brush once that's done will leave a streaky finish -- its not a high end solution, but spray paint would give the most even finish. Spray paint also looks MUCH better matte than brush paint.

• Olychick
    5 år sedan

Your inspiration pics are wonderful. Good luck and be sure to post an "after" picture!

• lindahambleton
    5 år sedan

An electric “palm” sander is easy to use. I have seen nice small hobby kind of sprayers but I have never used one.